For The Love Of Reading…

A few days ago, a  distant cousin of mine asked me a truly random question. 

She asked, ‘What exactly do you like about reading and books? It’s just a bunch of words on a page’.

‘JUST A BUNCH OF WORDS’ 😱😲 screamed the my inner psycho bitch👹. Clearly ‘the cousin’ is doing the whole reading thing wrong if that is her opinion.

How could I explain, to this part- neanderthal relative, the joy of one’s soul as you dance between the pages of a novel.


How could I make her understand the experience of drowning yourself in the lives of the characters.

Would my words  change her view in any way? Would my love and enthusiasm somehow, suddenly enable her to hear the crunch of autumn leaves beneath a characters’ feet? Or feel that exquisite burgundy silk dress as if she were touching it herself? 

Would she be able to smell the aroma of something delicious that was served? 

That’s what I love about reading. For me,  it’s as  personal as experiencing it myself. I can hear the characters voices as if they were as real as You and I. But how would I ever be able to explain this to another??? 

Truly,  for me, a book is not merely meant to be read. It is meant to be experienced. And like the saying goes, ‘No two people ever read the same book’. 

I would love to hear others thoughts on what they love reading and books. 😄


Images taken off Google Images. 

2 thoughts on “For The Love Of Reading…

  1. I read because I enjoy them as you do. I must-read every word and I feel and hear everything. I like historical romance, Bertice Small is the best and Catherine Coulter, Amanda Quick, Julia Quinn and many others. They don’t write fast enough, I like their books because their characters are continued into book series. I also like mysteries from David Baldacci, Patricia Cornwell, Stephen King and others. I am in a trance when I read and I feel everything about the characters. It is JOY! I am taken away to countries and oceans, cities and places I will only ever see in a book.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment